The Very Best of WCW Monday Nitro


I really never watched WCW back in the ‘90s; I wasn’t really a wrestling fan in the ‘90s. I saw one or two pieces of Nitro and remember seeing Hulk Hogan, sporting that fake black beard and riding a motorcycle, and something else involving the NWO but that’s about it. At that point I watched ECW (if I watched wrestling at all). I personally believed the people walking around in NWO shirts were idiots and professional wrestling was for children and rednecks. I still believe this, even though I’m a fair-weather fan, but there is something more to professional wrestling than steroid fueled muscle heads posing to kiss.

My buddy Justin suggested I watch The Very Best of WCW Monday Nitro, a DVD released by WWE recently. Actually, he suggested I only watch a stellar match between Chris Jericho and Rey Mysterio Jr. After talking to other wrestling fans, who claim the old men running around and carrying WCW’s flagship show are worthless but the smaller wrestlers (Chris Jericho, Chris Benoit, Mysterio, Dean Malenko, etc.) really carried the program. I can see that. Here is the match between Jericho and Mysterio from 1998. It’s a good example of quality wrestling on free television.

Later on the disc is a match between the late Eddie Guerrero and Juventud Guerrera (taken from 1999) which is another fine example of professional wrestling at its best. Guerrero is featuring his trademark mullet (in a braid) and this back and forth match makes WWE’s current product look like garbage. The speed of the two performers in this bout is unmatched by anybody currently wrestling – at least on American television. Of course, TNA has a great deal of fast little guys rounding out their X-Division but many of those wrestlers don’t have the charisma and presence of Guerrero. Click here to watch this match.

The rest of the disc is garbage featuring Hulk Hogan, the NWO, Sting, and a bunch of other performers who are either horribly boring or were in boring feuds. I can see why WCW went under – it was poorly booked and the only thing holding the promotion together was the cruiserweights; all the big performers from the ‘80s were on their last legs and just milking their past fame. The Very Best of WCW Monday Nitro is the kind of thing you’ll end up fast forwarding through unless you’re a fan of banal wrestling and enjoy watching old men bitch about nothing in particular.

Here is the trailer.

2 responses to “The Very Best of WCW Monday Nitro

  1. We never had Sky in our house back in the 90s. I used to watch WCW Nitro and Thunder on TNT. I loved Nash, Goldberg and the Giant. But it was the awesome cruiserweight/technical factions that made it so worth watching. I remember the final incarnation of the Four Horsemen, when it featured Benoit and Malenko. I loved those guys when they moved into WWF and became the Radicalz too.

    I remember some pretty awesome matches featuring, Billy Kidman and Juventud Guerrera. Back then it wasn’t predictable. Partly because I was young and hadn’t seen it before, but I like to think it was genuinely better as well.

    • I didn’t watch WCW; actually I didn’t really watch television in the ‘90s (aside from tapes of South Park, MST3K, and ECW) – I was too busy being a punk rock douchebag. I’ve gone back and seen a handful of the old cruiserweight matches from WCW (especially those containing Chris Benoit) and those were great, rivaling WWE in terms of quality. Of course, Bischoff stole all those guys from ECW (including the Mexican guys). A good documentary is The Rise and Fall of WCW, which discusses how the company started and how when it fell into Bischoff’s hands it was trying to put WWF under (while ripping off angles from Japanese wrestling and ECW).

      I’m actually glad WCW is gone although without any competition WWE has turned into shit. Thankfully TNA is around but they’re mostly garbage (RVD, Kurt Angle, and the X-Division excluded) and ROH isn’t on television anywhere right now.

Leave a Reply

