This week in my world…

Here’s my lazy man post for the day (since I’ve been writing my thesis for the most part and haven’t had time to write anything else). Normally when writing I loathe a quiet room but I can’t really listen to music because it’s distracting; instead I throw on a movie that I’ve seen a million times and just let it run, maintaining a low drone in the background. Lately it’s been Blade Runner, a film I feel is one of the best science fiction films of the 20th century (followed only by Verhoeven’s science fiction trinity and possibly Escape From New York). While I’ve been paying little attention to the dialogue, the music by Vangelis is a great writing soundtrack. I know it’s hypocritical since I don’t like listening to actual LP’s or CD’s while writing, but the music from Blade Runner is working very well.

In honor of Vangelis’ contribution to my academic progress, here’s my favorite part of his score. Enjoy and have a good weekend.

By the way, if you live in the Orlando area come and check out my bands this weekend and on next Wednesday. The information is below:

Saturday, March 19, 2011: New Man with The Wonderers at Devaney’s Pub. Corner of Goldenrod and University in Winter Park, Florida. Show starts at 10pm and is free to anybody 21 and up.

Wednesday, March 23, 2001: Weedeater with Zoroaster, Junior Bruce, and Sterile Prophet at Backbooth. On Pine Street right off Orange in downtown Orlando. Show starts at 8pm and is open to anybody 18 and up. $10 in advance/$12 day of show.

8 responses to “This week in my world…

  1. I usually listen to music whilst writing, but it’s usually instrumental and orchestral music. By small, but growing collection of film and game scores get played regularly. Tron: Legacy, Inception, The Good, The Bad and The Ugly and The Pacific are amongst my favourites. I have a few more scores on vinyl but I usually write late at night and so I have to use headphones and listen on my Mac.

    I very nearly bought Vangelis’ Blade Runner soundtrack a while back, it was in my metaphorical internet basket. I don’t know why I didn’t. I think I should.

    Mac.

    • Encrazed Crafts

      Good, bad, and ugly. Man. I think that was the first soundtrack to a movie I really, really liked. (Disney’s pop stuff doesn’t count, as I was young and easily influenced ^_^) I need to dig up the copy my dad got me for my birthday. The intro, the More Feeling war song, and the woman singing as Tuco ran around the cemetery stand out right away in my mind. Excellent score with a rather distinctive sound.

      • I picked up GBU from Play.com for about £3. A steal. My father also grabbed me two Ennio Morricone vinyls from the market for £5. Those records go for about £30 on Amazon. It’s one of my favourite records. It’s just so damn victorious. Start to finish it just sounds like a blaze of glory. Morricone should be sainted.

  2. I picked up Vangelis’ soundtrack at my local library, along with a bunch of other discs (Planet of the Apes, Forbidden Planet, The Day the Earth Stood Still, and two different Morricone anthologies. I’ve listened to Brian Eno, Nicholas Szczepanik, Oren Ambarchi, or Kraftwerk while writing before and it was successful but for the most part it’s just distracting. Anything with lyrics or isn’t simple doesn’t work for me. That’s why I always pick movies; the volume is down very low and normally I can only hear the score, which comes and goes. The Tron: Legacy soundtrack is quite sound, even though I don’t normally listen to Daft Punk; I liked the Inception soundtrack but felt some of it was an inverse version of The Dark Knight; I’ve never seen The Pacific (but have heard good things); anything by Morricone is usually good. =)

    • Encrazed Crafts

      I’ve got the clip you posted playing now (dang copyright crud, had to open it in pop-up to get past it) and the music is actually quite good. For some reason I wasn’t expecting this sound, and I like it. Reminds me vaguely of the main theme of Scarface, but that could just be similar instruments in use/time period.

      My preferred listenings as I type is techno trance stuff I find on youtube, I stumbled upon one song in particular recently that I like a lot: The Postal Service – The District Sleeps Alone Tonight. I used to listen to a lot of classical stuff remixed with techno beats, the original Pirates of the Caribbean soundtrack is excellent to listen to for almost anything. Anything by Jesper Kyd, notably Hitman and Freedom Fighter’s soundtracks are very well done, and yet again bother me for having not typed up any of the video game soundtrack posts I still got planned. Luckily his scores are so awesome I don’t mine ‘leaking’ out some ideas for posts early. Now looking at my favorites I’m seeing a lot of game-related songs, surprise surprise.

      A lot of Mount Eden dubstep remixes I enjoy as well, but they can easily start the whole foot tapping and head bobbing that distract the writing process if one of the more upbeat tracks starts to play.

  3. I never really got into a good deal of electronic music, mostly sticking to punk, hardcore, metal, and standard rock. The electronic groups I really enjoy are Kraftwerk, Brian Eno (if you can call some of it electronic), Nicholas Szczepanik, the good Vangelis stuff (believe me, there’s a bunch of crap), Zombi, and stuff like that. I think I’ve always enjoyed analog equipment instead of purely digital stuff, although there’s a bunch of really good electronic music out there I hear on a regular basis but don’t know what it is. There’s a song in Lost in Translation I really like but isn’t on the soundtrack (it’s when they’re at that club and it looks like fireworks are going off) and I really like Air too.

    Lately I’ve been listening to early New Order every day and the Minutemen, who are my favorite punk band of all time. Although I have a pretty decent record collection I haven’t been listening to music at home lately because I’m writing all the time and music distracts me when I’m sitting here working on things. I can throw on a movie I’ve seen a hundred times and ignore it. Right now I’m watching the original Texas Chainsaw Massacre but it’s really just on in the background. For some reason I’m obsessed with that score but it’s never been officially released and I have a bootleg of it on my iPod.

    I can’t wait to see your post about video game music; I’m really curious. I’ll keep checking and after April 7th I’ll start posting more again. I can’t wait until I’m done with this project and graduate. =)

    And anything by Morricone is amazing, especially The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly.

    • Encrazed Crafts

      Oy, I gotta feeling by the time I post it, the ‘hype’ around it will lead to massive amounts of meloncoly and angst over the wait haha I was going more for a weekly post about gaming music that struck me in some way instead of one big compilation. (It did start out that way, though. But it would look best if I cut it back to a selection of tracks from one game at a time, or even splitting a game into two posts, etc. Youtube after youtube link gets a bit old to the eyes rather quickly.) When I manage to start posting the game music stuffs I’ll be sure to make a descrete mention to you about it in your comments ^_^

      I think it’s odd how I can hear a tune on youtube or when my cousin visits from a game I played like ten years ago, but only after a moment I can ‘quote’ the beat as it plays (as most of the stuff is lyric-less). Rarely do movie soundtracks do that for me, but they aren’t really my bag so I can see why. Besides the overplayed Celine Dion track, Titanic had some good stuff in there, for example.

      • Encrazed Crafts

        I used spell check but for some reason Paste did not paste the corrected version. My bad.

Leave a Reply

