Abortions For All: 2010 in review

WordPress sent me an e-mail today about my blog, how it did, how many views, etc. Since I’ve been very lazy over the New Year weekend and don’t have anything new to post, I thought this would be an interesting thing to throw up on my little blog. Thanks to everybody that reads this, links to it, and so forth, for getting my inane writings out to the world. Here’s to a great 2011 and hoping our nation’s films don’t decline any further, following the trends of our economic and political systems.

The stats helper monkeys at WordPress.com mulled over how this blog did in 2010, and here’s a high level summary of its overall blog health:

Healthy blog!

The Blog-Health-o-Meter™ reads Wow.

Crunchy numbers

Featured image

A Boeing 747-400 passenger jet can hold 416 passengers. This blog was viewed about 3,700 times in 2010. That’s about 9 full 747s.

In 2010, there were 85 new posts, not bad for the first year! There were 340 pictures uploaded, taking up a total of 115mb. That’s about 7 pictures per week.

The busiest day of the year was December 25th with 131 views. The most popular post that day was Jingle All the Way.

Where did they come from?

The top referring sites in 2010 were facebook.com, 407fixedgear.com, wordpress.com, abortionsforeveryone.blogspot.com, and alphainventions.com.

Some visitors came searching, mostly for lobot, jaws 4, night of the living dead 1990, jingle all the way, and the wrestler.

Attractions in 2010

These are the posts and pages that got the most views in 2010.

1

Jingle All the Way December 2010

2

The Walking Dead episode 2 November 2010
4 comments

3

Pondering Lobot September 2010

4

The Sopranos: A Survey and Highly Subjective Opinion (part 1) September 2010

5

Night of the Living Dead 1990 remake November 2010
5 comments

Fuck yeah!!!!

4 responses to “Abortions For All: 2010 in review

  1. Encrazed Crafts

    Hearty congrats to you, bud! I like the little sciences going on that make up the math behind the internet. It’s sort of like retracing other people’s thoughts when you see how hits landed on your site. Awesome picture and post counts, man. I think my current ‘record’ is 8 post a month which I matched two months in a row, but will not tie this present one unless I find a few topics worth going on about. (Example: They weakened classes in WoW that I think was plain stupid from on unbiased viewpoint. Should I even attempt to swing that into a full post or just let it float away and find another topic. Will others even *care* in the long run? Etc. etc.)

    My most popular post this year was one of the walking dead reviews, most likely about the 5th episode. Was fun to watch the numbers fluctuate yet continue to increase as the weeks of the show went on, but I like the idea of math so numbers make me giddy in situations like that 😀 (Mind you I said I like math, not that crap with X’s or cosine and all that nonsense. I like numbers, not the alphabet. That’s like added lettuce and tomato to a home-grilled cheeseburger. I wants me a BURGER. Not a *salad*.)

  2. I personally like veggies on a burger; I’m also getting older and growing more concerned about my health. I honestly think this is a stupid thing because I’m a smoker and eat meat in the first place, which is not good for you. I can’t help it – I love a good piece of dead cow, pig, and chicken. I’ve also grown attached to duck lately, especially crispy Thai duck, but most people don’t care for it because it’s all dark meat, fatty, and very rich. I’d like to go full on vegetarian but my constitution isn’t strong enough unfortunately.

    You should post more about WoW, especially if you think the topic is relevant. The internet’s a vast resource of free information for the moment and if you have something worthwhile to say you should say it. If Viacom, Google, and the rest get their way we’ll all lose and the only pieces of information available will come from private organizations drowning out the masses. For all the talk about freedom bandied about lately it seems hypocritical these same people want to limit free expression via digital mediums. I think that’s enough soapboxing for now. =)

    The blog’s growing on a regular basis, which is great. I have over 100 viewers a day lately. I never thought that many people would read this or I would’ve picked another name; Abortions for All isn’t exactly a great title and I only picked it because I thought people would never read this crap. Turns out I was wrong.

    I’m also trying to find more people to contribute to this blog, making it bigger and better. Unfortunately I’m terrible with html or the codex stuff and it took me forever to figure out how to get the “read more” tag working. My girlfriend says I should buy a domain name for it and I’m thinking about it. Then again, she still owes me an article on American Psycho she’s been writing since the beginning of December. Considering she writes freelance for a bunch of places I don’t hold it against her.

    Thanks for reading this little thing. I only posted it because I didn’t have anything written and wanted to put something up. WordPress sent me an e-mail about it and I thought it was worthwhile, even though it’s a bit self-indulgent and vain. At the same time its neat seeing how this little experiment has progressed over the last year. I never thought I’d end up doing a blog that people actually read. My favorite is seeing the search results that get people here; some people type in some really bizarre things and sometimes I have no idea how a particular search term landed them here. My favorite of all time is “decapitated sex,” which I know comes from my Re-Animator post but I’m still surprised somebody typed that in to begin with. I guess there are some sick people out there. =)

    Happy New Years again. I hope 2011 is treating you well thus far. I, with my new Blu-Ray player and badass flat screen television we got for Christmas is treating us like royalty. You haven’t seen Logan’s Run or Escape From New York (one of my next few posts) until you’ve seen it in super high definition. I also picked up Julie and Julia for my girlfriend today and it’s quite possible I haven’t seen anything until I’ve seen the Julia Childs biopic in HD. God bless =)

    Take care

    • Encrazed Crafts

      So ‘type your thoughts while you are still allowed’ sort of a thing? Oy. I thought Google was fighting for our rights? Like youtube did, etc. And since I think Google owns youtube now, I thought they were pro ‘the people’. Oh, bother.

      Ooo, I should probably check my mail haha I was looking around and wondering how you found all those cool searches and that odometer, etc. Wonder what weird searches I got, I know a few off the top of my head was about racists and mexicans because of the Vatos episode, though if I got a hit from anything as titilating as decapitation sex I’ll let you know haha

      Escape from New York in HD? Did they remaster that? Doh, you probably posted it by now, I’ll go and check ^_^ And Julie and Julia wasgood, though they will provoke the “so…she wrote a blog and got a book and movie deal. So uh…whats….what’s it that you aren’t doing right?” from those who watch it with you. First hand account, my brother. First hand account >.<

  3. I haven’t posted a review of Escape From New York yet. Actually, I’ve been really busy with school lately and I’m sure my future posts will be fewer. I’ll always need a break from academia and that’s what I love about doing this blog – I can write whatever I want whenever I want. Plus I don’t have
    academic standards hanging over my head. =)

    Although I use Google every day I’m not happy with their internet domination plans. If Google, Verizon, and the rest get their way the internet will be dominated by large corporations and institutions with millions to spend on advertising. Hopefully it’ll stay a free medium but I fear for the future.

    I was surprised WordPress sent me something about my blog this year and it’s really funny they do it in the first place. I used to use Blogspot but I don’t like their layout and changed over; WordPress is much easier to use. Blogspot is good for music blogs and I use it for my record label but not for personal writing.

    Glad you’re back from Christmastime. =)

Leave a Reply

